Meet 3: TEDYou Skillshare Teachers

8508302035_480d668294_b

TEDActive teamed up with Skillshare, a platform that helps people learn anything from anyone, to bring a new form of the TEDYou talk this year. Six attendees were selected to deliver six-minute tutorial talks. For the first time ever, we livestreamed the session, free to the public. You can see an archive of today’s session on our Facebook page. We caught up with 3 of the speakers below.

MIKE_TITLE

Mike_K

@mikekarnj

Activator Role: Co-founder of Skillshare

From: New York City

What is still undiscovered about your work or your mission?

One thing we’re spending a lot of time trying to figure out is how people should learn today. If we had to build education from the ground up for the 21st century, what would it look like today and what should it look like in the future? We’re trying to discover what learning could look like in the future if it was based around passion, curiosity, creativity, collaboration and all of those things that make learning really awesome.

What are you most curious about right now?

Right now I’m most curious about my own creativity as well as a curiosity around relationships and the people I’m surrounded with. One of the things I’ve been thinking a lot about this year is balance, balance between work and everything else. I’ve been especially curious about how to tap back into my own creativity. I’ve started taking a lot of classes on film and photography in the hopes that one day I can make some short documentaries.

What are you most looking forward to this week at TEDActive?

I’m really looking forward to experiencing TEDActive from beginning to end. I’m here without an agenda and want to hang out, immerse myself in the community, and see what happens.

Share something cool you’ve discovered recently.

Right now I’m obsessed with Eddie Huang. He’s a TED2013 Fellow and just wrote a book called “Fresh Off the Boat“. (He also has a show on Vice by the same name.) What I really liked about his book was the consistent theme about what it was like to grow up as a minority in his country. I felt like I could totally relate to everything he was saying. It sounds so simple, but I think what he is trying to say is just “be yourself.”

Michael recommends you check out this episode where Eddie goes back to Taiwan with his father.

What song are you listening to on repeat?

I really like the new Kendrick Lamar song featuring Drake.

KRUPALI_TITLE

Krupali

@krupali

Activator Role: Radiation Oncologist

From: Corona, CA

What are you most curious about?

I’m curious about people and what makes them tick. Each individual has a story and it’s always fascinating to learn their passions and their drives and their motivations and their fears and their vulnerabilities.

What was something that made you smile today?

Hugging my TED friends! They’re like my family. It’s good to be back – I’ve been coming for 2 years, but I didn’t get to come last year, so seeing them today has been like a welcome home party.

What are you looking forward to this week at TEDActive?

I’m really excited about meeting more new and interesting people with different ideas that will help drive me in my own passions and make me  a better person.

Share something cool you’ve recently discovered.

I’m always mesmerized that Bhutan doesn’t have a GNP or a GDP but has Gross National Happiness. That one fact led me to travel there a few years ago. I was just fascinated because a country that thrives from living on happiness is something that we should all learn from.

Check out this TEDTalk by Chip Conley for more info about Gross National Happiness.

What are you currently reading?

I just finished Mindy Kaling’s book “Is Everyone Hanging Out With Me (And Other Concerns)” and loved it!

What song are you listening to on repeat?

I love Thrift Shop by Macklemore & Ryan Lewis!


DAVID_TITLE

fallen_fruit

@fallenfruit

Activator Role: Co-Founders of Fallen Fruit

From: Los Angeles

What do you want people to discover through your work?

What we’re really talking about is sharing and the idea that sharing is the most radical thing we can do. This is a really exciting thing to share as a skill: we can share food in cities, we can share conversation, we can just be there together. It’s an incredible social experiment we’ve created where it doesn’t matter who you are or where you fit into society and that’s something we really want people to discover for themselves.

What are you most curious about? 

I’m really curious about being present and showing up and what that means. I think through Fallen Fruit, it’s become really clear to us that showing up is in fact a way of sharing. To just be present is one of the most important ways we can share. I’m really interested in that concept.

What are you most looking forward to this week at TEDActive?

I want to apply those tools that I’m thinking about: really being present and listening.

What song are you listening to on repeat?

Juanita Banana from our Banana Hotline Playlist.

Be sure to check out Fallen Fruit’s Banana Oracle in the Lab this week at TEDActive.

Leave a Reply

