Meet 3: TED Translators

8505539153_2bd95e3573_b

Meet some of the amazing volunteer translators who’ve made TEDTalks accessible to people around the world. They’ve come from far and wide to make new friends, exchange ideas and share in the TEDActive experience.

abishek

Abhishek

Activator Role: Wikipedia Summit India Director

From: Pune, India

What has been your favorite talk so far?

My favorite talk so far is from the TED Prize winner, Sugata Mitra, because it’s a completely new concept. It’s positive disruption. It’s about bringing something new to society and the community, which could be revolutionary in upcoming years.

What’s something you wish that everyone at TEDActive could know about you?

That I love TEDActive – that’s a thing they need to know. They need to know that I love everyone here.

What’s something that’s surprised you so far this week?

People from 70 different countries under the one platform – that’s huge, that’s inspiring, that’s incredible. It’s like traveling around the globe in five days. To meet new people from different nationalities, from different cultures, different backgrounds – that’s something beyond my imagination.

What’s something you still want to learn or do before TEDActive is over?

Meet more and more people, and spend private time with each and every individual, so I can learn from their experience, their story, their culture, their country. I want to know everything about everyone.

What are you going to bring home with you?

I’m going to bring home with me a lot of positivity and energy, and I’m going to spread it to India.

arpinearpine

Activator role: PanArmenian Network Head of Communications

From: Yerevan, Armenia

What was your favorite talk that you’ve seen?

It was about the limitations, creating. This amazing artist – Phil Hansen. I like his message. I’ve seen some of his work going viral on Facebook without attributions, so it was great that I got to know the artist.

What’s something you wish that everyone at TEDActive could know about you?

It’s actually really hard to describe myself in just a few sentences. My badge doesn’t say anything besides where I work, and it even doesn’t say much about it. And what I find interesting about this TEDActive experience is you never know what you might discover about the person you are talking to. You might be talking to someone with an amazing experience, a great inventor, or someone who has created something really impressive.

What’s something that’s surprised you so far?

It surprised me that a lot that people, when they see I’m all by myself or I’m reflecting on things, they come over and say, “Hi, how are you?” and introduce themselves and want to know about me. Since I am an introvert and I don’t usually feel comfortable approaching other people, it’s really cool that I can relax and just wait for other people to approach me.

What are you going to bring home with you?

I got a lot of ideas about event organization from TEDActive that I will definitely bring to my TEDx event. A lot of small things, like details that were nicely designed, that I could use in our event. I’m also trying to arrange my gift bag stuff to bring home to my team, to give everyone a piece of TEDActive.

palashpalash

Activator role: Mastermind School mathematics teacher

From: Dhaka, Bangladesh

What has been your favorite talk so far?

The [Coded Meanings] session, in its total. And John McWhorter, the LOL guy. I like it because it says language will evolve. It’s better to try understanding it, because if you try to protect it, it’s not going to work.

What do you wish that everyone at TEDActive could know about you?

That I give my 100 percent when I work. If I can’t give 100 percent, I feel guilty. Back home, I work almost 19 hours a day. This week is the first I’m getting six, seven hours of sleep per night.

What’s surprised you so far this week?

Over here you not only talk about the talks, you can talk about the people who are here. This is the thing I find amazing: You can go into any crowd and you can talk the way I’m talking right now with people. You just see your common interests, and right away can talk about it. It cannot happen in any other place; this is why TED is something different.

What’s something you still want to learn or do before the week is over?

One thing I want to do right now is to talk about my country, and what’s going on – the fight that we’ve fought for 40 years, and we’re fighting it still. If you read the story of Bangladesh, you will understand a bit.

What’s something you want to bring home with you?

When I came to the United States months before, my students asked, “Why are you going, teacher?” When I said to them that I was going to TED, they asked, “What is TED? Who is TED?” And I said, the first word you write in Google, you’ll find out what is TED. They came back and said, “How can we participate?” Now, coming here, I know how to guide them. Everyone’s stories inspired me. I have this plan that I want to produce 200 new translators by the next TEDActive. This way, one child is helping another.

Leave a Reply

